Eric McCollum

I am a fine art photographer living and working in the Washington, DC area in the US. I work primarily with the nude figure and in black and white.  I am particularly fascinated with the figure in motion and also photograph dancers in the studio. A film photographer in my early days, I now work with digital images.

This series came about when a model I was working with showed me the body cocoon – a stretch tube of nylon fabric. I was immediately drawn to have the body is transformed when encased in the fabric. The lines of the stretched nylon make the space around the body visible. The project has evolved over nearly 4 years – multiple models, male and female, tearing the fabric, staining it with paint and mud. Each time I begin to believe I have reached the end, a new possibility emerges.

Leave a Reply

