Morocco, Youssef Boudlal

My earliest memories of photography are of taking pictures of my family and other people in my neighbourhood with my old camera, a Canon Programme AE1. This was my first experience in the field of photography, even though I never thought at the time that I would become a photographer.

After a year at a private photography school in 1995, I learnt how to develop and print black and white pictures. After that, I worked as a printer for Gamma press agency in Paris for four years.

Every picture I shoot is about satisfying my curiosity. I like working in a war zone, as much as covering a fashion show. I don’t see this as a contradiction, they are both part of my life experience. My field of interest is storytelling and sharing the beauty and complexity of this fantastic land of ours.

Leave a Reply

