Dennis Mecham

I am, for the most part, self-taught. I can be very focused and can be very patient. I have a strong sense of perseverance which has helped immensely. The art form in which I had more formal training was music. I have found it to be a great asset in the photographic journey. Music requires a devotion and discipline which helps me daily in my photography.

Music, too, requires the merging of artistic expression and musical craft. You have to be both an artist and a technician. Photographers have a distinct advantage over musicians.

If you don’t practice your instrument every day, your skills can diminish noticeably. That doesn’t happen if you don’t take photographs for a few days. Because of the necessity for that mind/body interface, music is more demanding.

Describing my work through words seems rather crude compared to images. Words always qualify an experience that always falls short, with the exception of poetry. I think my work expresses what we are all doing. Finding our place in this life and to experience it on the fullest level possible. We are all searching to discover who we are, which I believe is the main purpose of existence.

With many of my images the concept is fixed in my mind as to what I want to achieve; the composition is there. I always leave room for spontaneity and surprises. I’m not very good at taking snapshots. Though I can take advantage of spontaneity, there has to be some main idea of what I am trying to achieve before I work on it or I burn up a lot of film and never achieve anything.

Home

Leave a Reply

